Qualifying offer deadline: Walker, Hellickson accept 1-year deals

Neil Walker will be back in Queens next year and Jeremy Hellickson will return to Philadelphia in 2017, as both players have accepted their one-year, $ 17.2-million qualifying offers from the Mets and Phillies, respectively.

The other eight players to receive qualifying offers turned them down ahead of Monday’s deadline, and will now navigate free agency attached to draft-pick compensation, forcing the clubs that sign them – assuming they change teams – to forfeit their top unprotected picks in the 2017 draft. Should those players find new homes this offseason, their former teams will also receive compensatory picks after the first round of next year’s amateur draft.

Here’s the complete list of players that received qualifying offers:

Jose Bautista Blue Jays Rejected Official
Yoenis Cespedes Mets Rejected Official
Ian Desmond Rangers Rejected Official
Edwin Encarnacion Blue Jays Rejected Official
Dexter Fowler Cubs Rejected Official
Jeremy Hellickson Phillies Accepted Official
Kenley Jansen Dodgers Rejected Official
Mark Trumbo Orioles Rejected Official
Justin Turner Dodgers Rejected Official
Neil Walker Mets Accepted Official

Walker and Hellickson now join Brett Anderson, Colby Rasmus, and Matt Wieters as the only players to accept a qualifying offer since the system was introduced in 2012.

MLB | theScore

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.